In some countries, more and more people are hiring a personal fitness trainer, rather than playing sports or doing exercise classes. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

The majority of people are inclined in hiring a personal rather than involving in sports or exercise classes to improve their fitness. This is mainly due to personalized focus and quick results. However, there are various detrimental consequences due to this trend. One of the main reasons for this approach is the benefit of focused training. In other words, having a trainer provides personal attention to the individual, and this will provide more efficient results than attending a group yoga or exercise class. For example, a study conducted by the Harvard reported that 70% of individuals who hire personal trainers to build their stamina and fitness goals achieve results 25% effectively. Moreover, the other privilege is that one can choose a convienient time to attend the gym rather than attending a group session or playing a team sport. This is ideal for the current lifestyle of people living around the world. This is to say, a person can arrange a time slot to meet fitness goals based on their own convenience. Although people choose this approach to achieve quick results, I see this as a negative development. Firstly, attending group fitness sessions provide the opportunity for individuals to meet other people who have the same passion and goals. Hence, this allows socializing and strengthening community relationships. This will not be the same when hiring a personal trainer. The only person who would be dealing with is the trainer. Moreover, sports encourage team building and collaboration which are not part of individual focused training. In conclusion, some people hire personalized trainers mainly to achieve quick fitness results and also of the benefit of having personalized training. However, this would be a negative development as it does not promote collaboration and relationship building as it does in group sessions or sports.