Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country rather than other countries’. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many think the local literature such as fiction and poetry must be valued over those of other nations. I do agree with this view for two primary reason as follows. Firstly, studying the local literature deepen the understanding of one’s own country particularly for children at a young age in school. For instance, in Iran introducing masterpieses masterpiece like Shahname, Manteghoteir, or Golestan to adolescents will give them a reliable source of information so that they can be aware of their rich culture and history such that makes a sense of belonging and unity to them. Furthermore, having access to a huge and various source of literature from all over the world plus social media, movies, and series, in our contemporary world are fading diversity and leading to a homogeneousness world. Teaching local literature to the younger generation, therefore, demands further consideration. Secondly, knowing and reading more of regional literature can boost individuals’ personal and collective identity specially the youth, hence the importance of teaching district literature at schools. To exemplify, reading works of authors such as Jamalzadeh, Farrokhzad, or Hedayat helps Iranian juveniles to form their identity based on Persian culture since they explain Iranian customs, taboos, or beliefs in their books in the form of stories and poems. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that schools must concentrate more on their own countries literature rather than those far away countries for the sake of a nation’s collective identity and enhancing it individuals’ sense of belonging.