In recent years,” responsible tourists” have paid attention to preserving both culture and environmrnt of the places thay visit. However, some poelpe say that it is impossible to be a “responsible tourist”. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A group of people believe that it is possible foster responsible tourism when visitors committe commit committee themselves with the visited spot. Others, however, do not believe that it is possible, as far as the tourism practice implicates exploring environment and cultural aspects from a group of individuals. This essay deeply agrees with the former position and this point of view will be developed later on. Tourism is a relevant source of economy income from different parts of the world. Besides of the economical importance, it is also a way to keep communities' cultural aspects alive. Through the activity, it is possible to create awareness about determined society and make people know more concerning different realities across the globe. In Marajo, an island nestled in the North of Brazil, for instance, cultural tourism is immensely widespred and it is used as a tool to make people know more about local community and their activities. Thus, as tourists visite the Island, they are able to see the local ceramic production, try local food made with reginal ingredients, talk to native people and know more about the local history. Depite these positive aspects, some believe that tourism is harmful, considering the visitors as threats to the environment and to the local cultural manifestations. They advocate that people go to other places and impose their way of life and make identity apropriations. In addition, harm to the environment is mentioned as a bad result of tourism. In my point of view, this is a limiting belief which can prompt isolation and misinformation. Some campaigns can be developed do diminish puntual problems related to bad tourists behaviour. To conclude, it is known that visiting a community can create connections and meaningful unsderstanding about others reality. Nontheless, all this, do not have to be faced as invasion or disrespect, as far as people understand that they are not at their own home.