Some people say that all secondary and higher secondary school students should be taught how to manage money as it is an important life skill. Do you agree or disagree with this argument?

Money management is an important life skill that needs to be assimilated at an early age and can be developed through consistent practice. However, some people present the argument that financial management should be an integral part of secondary and higher secondary pedagogy that has to be taught by teachers like any other important life skills. This essay, or the ensuing paragraphs illustrate my opinion in this regard. There are various factors that support the thought that financial management could be taught during the teen years in school. The secondary and higher secondary school period is a crucial time for assimilating new value system from peers, teachers, etc.The young adults try to model their behavior according to their social circles, they spend most of their day in school, which impacts their perspective.Adolescents need constant validation from their teachers regarding their habits, behaviors, etc; hence, teachers are their greatest role models. For instance, in my nephew's hostel, every month the children are allocated pocket money to buy small nicks and nacks. The children who spend their money wisely are often rewarded with treats. This creates positive behavior patterns in children. However, in my opinion, financial literacy should start at home. It is quite overt that, most of the character formation of a child is completed by age seven, which clearly indicates parents play a key role in nurturing behavior. It is parents key responsibility to develop a positive perspective about money management. They could demonstrate it by keeping an expenditure tracker to make children realise the value of money. Parents and close relatives could make children aware of not spending money on harmful things like liquor, drugs, cigarettes, etc. For example, it is quite evident in our society that children end up committing crimes in order to get access to goods like drugs. This act impacts negatively on society and the nation as a whole. In conclusion,there are convincing arguments about whether money management should be taught in secondary or higher secondary school by the teachers. I opine that it is a skill, that a child carries throughout their life hence it is good be taught both at home and at school from a very young age.