It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than thoise who prefer television. Yo what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading is a good habit. Some people believe that those people who read books can improve their imagination and language ability compared to watching television. In my opinion, I completely agree that the benefits of reading are greater than TV. To begin with, one of the most significant benefits of reading is that it enhances the cognitive thinking of a person. When someone reads, he needs to use his imagination in order to conceptualize the characters, places, and events that are happening within the story. The writer makes the reader imagine for instance, an elephant that is flying. In addition to that, it also improve one's vocabulary. It is especially beneficial for non-native English speakers. That is why most teachers advise their students to read if they want to broaden their language ability. Thus, I believe that reading can cultivate one's knowledge. On the other hand, some may argue that television is similar. At some point it is true, as there are shows such as National Geographic Channel, where people could be educated. However, those kind of shows are very minimal. Most programs depict violence and sex, that are not child-friendly. There is a high chance that kids will imitate those kind of behavior especially if they watch them without supervision. Hence, I believe that TV was made to entertain not to educate. In conclusion, though reading can be boring for some, it is undeniable that it is the best option if one wants to gain greater imagination and linguistic abilities. However, if a person seeks entertainment, the television is what he need.