The best way to solve the traffic congestion in city is to provide free public transport for 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Free public transportation may not be the best solution to the traffic congestion since it can have huge financial implications on the city budget. If public transportation runs free, it could potentially cause a significant monetary problem. In the meanwhile, other solutions can be considered by governments; for instance, they can promote bicycle lanes and walking paths. In addition, local authorities can introduce congestion charges, which can reduce traffic jams. As a result, these measures can encourage people to use buses, trains, and trams more. Consequently, free public transportation may not a viable solution. Furthemore, free public transportation should not be considered because it can reduce budget allocated to improve the service and quality of it. If governments provide free transportation around the clock for the city dwellers, it can reduce the quality of transportation services. On the other hand, by charging passengers, the local government can utilise the income to invest on the services and improve the quality through replacing old vehicles, doing regular maintenance, and making sure all the services are reliable and on time. As a result, people will probably use more public transport instead of their private vehicles.