Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, gender equality is seen to be one of many deciding factors of university admission criteria. To achieve such a condition, it argued that the same number of students for both genders, men and women, should be accepted. While it is true that we should encourage more women to pursue higher education, this essay disagrees with that policy for the following reasons. To begin with, it is important to understand that equality does not always mean the same condition for both parties. In this case, equality is not represented by the same number of men and women students admitted, instead it should give an equal opportunity for both to enter the application stage by implementing the same standard in the assessment. Therefore, universities should primarily focus on the merit and potential of applicants rather than enforcing gender quotas. Admissions should be based on individual achievements, skills, and aptitudes to ensure that the most qualified candidates are selected, regardless of gender. The second reason is imposing strict gender ratios might overlook the natural differences in interest and choice between genders across various subjects. For instance, there may be a higher interest among females in subjects like nursing or psychology and among males in engineering or computer science. These preferences should not be suppressed in the name of gender equality. Instead of a maximum number of male students, universities can provide a minimum number of females within a major to motivate female students to apply for men-dominated fields. In conclusion, conditioning the number of students for both genders will not help the universities achieve gender equality. By focusing on quality and standardized requirements, universities can provide fair competition, thus enabling diversity to happen. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that it is not needed for educational institutions to determine a precise number for both their male and female students.