The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to find these energy sources in remote locations. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that the world is increasingly demanding a vast amount of energy resources such as oil and natural gas, and to meet this need, it has become mandatory to find them in untouched areas. Although, finding these natural resources has led to providing more sources of energy, it is easy to understand that their cons outweigh their pros. Analyzing the various aspects of this trend will show this. On the one hand, there is no denying the fact that the extraction of natural resources like oil and gas would bring several benefits. Exploiting untouched places could provide enormous amount of oil and gas, solving the existing problem of lacking energy sources. Since almost all of the places are intensively immense, the potential of this field is massive. These fields will give a chance to governments as well as companies to construct more factories, which leads to having more opportunities for citizens to get employment in these areas. For instance, Saudi Arabia is renowned for its natural resources in the world. So, the government has earned a lot of money by selling raw oil and gas to developed countries, whose technology are cutting edge. Overall, these natural resources contribute to the economic growth and sustainable development of the country. On the other hand, the excessive use of gas and oil has adverse effects on nature, such as global warming and climate change, which lead to a surge in global temperatures affecting green areas. Therefore, exploitation of the green regions will threaten animals and birds,not only devastating their homes but also causing health diseases. For instance, an area in which countries would like to drill is the Antarctic,home to many birds and animals such as penguins and polar bears, any spillages would be disastrous to the environment. In conclusion,despite the fact that the extraction of natural resources has certain benefits, it also has a wide range of drawbacks to the ecosystem, which outweighs the benefits as it will damage environments.