The government should sometimes infringe on people's freedom for the security of society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is disagreement regarding the issue of whether the government should sometimes infringe on people's freedom for the security of society. The main point of contention is related to the appropriateness of this government action, but personally, I believe that this infringement on people's freedom should be prohibited because the freedom of citizens is more important than social safety. In most cases, infringing on civil freedom should be prohibited because this can lead to positive outcomes. This is because protecting freedom means that people can pursue their wants and dreams without any limitations from the government. For example, people from Western countries like the United States emphasize the importance of personal freedom as a core value of society, and this is the value that allows them to follow and achieve their dreams. As a result, letting people live freely without government interference is the most appropriate relationship between a government and its citizens. This shows that infringing on the freedom of citizens should not be allowed in most situations. In contrast, it is true that allowing the government to limit people's freedom can help a society to remain safe from violent crime. This is because harsh government regulations that restrict people's freedoms will prevent crime. For example, strong government prohibitions on the civil right to own a gun help to keep society safe from gun-related massacres in public places like shopping malls and movie theaters. As a result, people can feel comfortable and safe when they visit crowded places. This shows that limiting some civil freedoms can increase the safety of the whole society. In conclusion, infringing on the freedoms of citizens is a contentious topic because there are opinions that support and oppose this basic idea. However, I personally believe that the government should not infringe on the rights of citizens unless it is absolutely necessary.