Some people think the government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The functions of governments come in an array of forms, among which science and technology education is an indispensable facet. In spite of its importance, I am of the opinion that there exist other educational aspects to which governments should attach significance. Apparently, education in Science has resulted in a boost in productivity and the reduction of manpower in the meantime. For example, we are currently pushing buttons in factory production rather than doing the original heavy lifting. Modern transportation as another child of technology brings us to the other half of the hemisphere within less than one day while it would have taken months decades ago. On the other hand, however, it is quite obvious that solutions to countless issues in our modern society cannot hinge on scientific breakthroughs. The rising rate of juvenile delinquency is supposed to be tackled by raising the law awareness of teenagers and certain restrictions on media violence. The widening gap between the affluent and needy is another issue that calls for better social welfare and economic development, rather than scientific discoveries. The aforementioned examples not only show the importance of law and social work compared with technological developments but also remind governments of an uneven investment policy that only fuels predictable social problems. As is the case with education, which concerns the long-term progress of the whole nation, it should cover each stream including Literature, Engineering and Business and also, if possible, develop new branches catering for upcoming needs. To sum up, the allocation of educational funding should be balanced so as to guarantee a prosperous and holistic society, although the significance of scientific advancements cannot be underestimated.