Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

There is a growing belief that the existance of big multinational companies contribute to the economic growth of developing coutries. However, there are also people who think that these companies are only benefitting themselves and harm others. In my opinion, apart from the harm they may cause, these large multinationals also provide some significant benefits for the locals. Activities undertaken by industries in one country will create more jobs and involve the local communites community on the field. As consequences, it leads to a better employment. This condition will result to the reduction of poverty in the particular country, as well as promoting their economic growth. For example, Tesla's battery factory in Indonesia helps to reduce unemployment in this country by 15% just after 2 years. On the other hand, it is commonly known that big companies build their factory in developing countries because it seems to be an easier option. First, it allows them to reduce their operational cost by paying the local workers under the minimum wage they would paid in developed countries. Second, most developing countries are known for lacking of environmental regulations. Therefore, for companies, it can help them to avoid to fulfil their obligations relating to the environment. As a result, many developing countries, such as Indonesia and Vietnam, experience a severe pollution and general decrease in environmental quality due to the existance of big industries' factories in their country. To conclude, activities of big companies in developing countries may contribute to the economical growth as well reducing poverty in the particular country. However, government should take part to reduce negative impact of these corporations' activities. Local goverment governments should help to regulate the minimum wage and the environmental obligations of the company.