Some people believe that money spent on space exploration is not justifiable. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, governments and billionaires across the world allocated considerable amount of their resources to reach for the stars, aiming to shed some lights on the mystery surroundoing the space above us. However, I consider myself as an opposition to those space exploration missions as the resource can be allocated to resolve a more grounded, yet relevant problem for our civilization. Ever since the cold war, various countries have been obssesed with space exploration, thinking of it as a race against other countries. This ambitious dream are backed by the significant share of the country budget allocated for the research and development of the aircraft. In most cases, the budget dwarved the budget for poverty alleviation purposes. For example, the total funding for country A's space exploration program are way beyond the gathered money to cure malaria disease in rural africa. The question lingers, are we as a civillization has collectively decide that the life of those living under poverty to be less relevant and important compared to exploring beyond earth? I agree that there are numerous spending options that are more justifiable and beneficial for society than to spend on space exploration. Eversince the cold war in 1960's, the world poverty rate have worsen over the years. This poverty proved to provide an obstacle to those living under it, having no capacity to push beyond the boundaries and have to live on scarcity. A national funding used to alleviate poverty are proven to be effective, and I am a proponent of using space exploration money to finance these types of funding. For example, providing free bed nets can reduce malaria disease that often kills poor people. Using space exploration budget, the world can finance more of these type of helps for the poor people. In time, it can help the make the world a better place. To conclude, I agree that the space are an interesing object to explore. However, to prioritize it over helping those in needs does not provide benefits to our society as a whole.