In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Life expectancy has increased significantly in many nations around the globe, making many people believe that this trend poses a threat to governments while national prosperity will be sparked by the graying population in the view of some. Despite bringing advantages in some aspects, the disadvantages are more significant. (2 sentences) Undoubtedly, the aging population contributes to society in various aspects. As their wisdom and life experience accumulate, they can play a role as a guide or a mentor for the young generation. Armed with such prestigious expertise, young people can become more adaptable to insurmountable situations or make wiser decisions, resulting in a knowledgeable and prosperous society. Additionally, aging demography acts as the backbone of the nation as it passes down valuable cultural heritage and traditional values to future generations. This inheritance of traditionality is indispensable in preserving national identity and creating a sense of continuity and stability. (5 Sentences) However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks since individuals with longer life spans can place a strain on society and the economy. On a social level, as an extended life expectancy population passes down traditional values, inevitably, norms and stereotypes go hand in hand with this inheritance, which can be a glass ceiling to the development of future generations. China, for instance, is a prime example of this status quo, as young individuals are forced to get high-paid jobs in lieu of pursuing career interests, or women can not be breadwinners. On the economic level, unlike young, energetic workforces, older counterparts can not bear the burden of working in a taxing environment from 9 to 5, inevitably resulting in decreasing productivity and efficiency. (4 sentences) In conclusion, despite leading to a knowledgeable society with preserved values, the shortcomings of a population with a lengthy life expectancy outweighed the benefits as these individuals are barriers to developing countries. This is provided that the government should increase retire ages to tackle this problem. (2 sentences)