Some people say industrial growth is necessary to solve poverty, while some believe it should be stopped due to environmental problem it creates. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Industrialisation is proven to be critical in addressing socio-economic problem however, the environmental impact of it has sparked a debate with some arguing that it should be fully stopped while others argued that it is necessary in order to continue alleviating poverty. While there are merits to both sides of the argument, I firmly believe that the benefits of industrialisation outweigh the costs. First and foremost, industrialisation is shown to be the most effective tool for resolving poverty problems. For example, a newly built factory in sub-urban Jakarta managed to absorb 1 million workers that were previously unemployed. While some argue that poverty is better handled with social security policies, such interventions are not sustainable and do not have the capacity to enrich all poor population. For example, the cash transfer program in Indonesia, accounting for 40% of the total government budget, can only help 5% of people living under the poverty threshold whereas building factories can employ significantly more poor households. However, some believe that the benefits of poverty reduction can not be fully justified due to the environmental destruction caused by industrial policy. For instance, the massive adoption of industrial policy in the 1900s is responsible for global warming and climate change. Nonetheless, nowadays, industrial policy is often coupled with environmental consideration to remove all the negative ecological effects of it. To illustrate, it is now compulsory for a coal factory to use higher quality air filters to remove all the excess pollutions that it emits. To conclude, nature can be endangered due to the act of industrialisation. However, the positive sides of industrialisation eclipse the disadvantages, causing a net positive effect to the society. Lastly, the negative effects can also be reduced with certain measurements.