In many countries, people increasingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

There is an increasing trend towards people repeatedly mentioning money -related topics in their mundane conversation. This can be accounted for by many reasons and this trend, to my perspective, should not be encouraged. To begin with, the unexpected surge in bringing up money to their daily talk, regardless of whether it is a discussion or gossip, can be attributed to the importance of money in every individual's life and the social attitudes toward money. Regarding the former, as society operates due to the flow of money, the requirement to purchase any service or necessities, which dictate the living of themselves or their family. Therefore, many people put a high value on financial stability, and this indirectly manipulates their mind to the obsession of money everywhere and everywhen, and the result is they verbalize their mindset to conversations. Another worth-mentioning reason is the social prejudices, due to the fact that many people care about money, so the more money you earn, the more admiration you receive from your surroundings. For instance, when a celebrity appears on the street with a flashy outfit and items, everywhere he goes, people will look up at him and stare at the jewelry he wears, and discuss how expensive it would be. However, I personally feel that sharing such private information is inappropriate, due to the negative impact it has on society. The first reason is this trend will shift society to the materialistic lifestyle, and the impact would be the overlooking of essential characteristic qualities but perhaps, praising the superficial appearances, which can potentially lead to the undervalue and mistreatment toward the impoverished side. Discrimination should be acknowledged also, for instance, teenagers who are financially sick, unable to purchase decent clothes or have dirty appearance can be bombarded or threatened with humiliation. In conclusion, despite the fact that developing society means that everybody should dedicate more for financial freedom, for their sake of living, it does not necessarily cohere with the materialism and judging lifestyle, with conversations as the popular form due to the negative impact it brings. Fostering discrimination to occur, creating distance and layering the community, all of these will raise a concern that justice will vanish and inequalities become prevalent and in the long run, prevent the society to harmonize and create sustainable development, which is an ultimate goal that we should aim to.