Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate on whether scientific research should focus on solving global health problems, or spend the budget on other important issues. As I believe the ultimate goal of scientific research is to provide enhancements to human welfare, I think solving both world health and other issues are equally as important, and neither of which should be prioritized over the other. On the one hand, solving world health problems is crucial to our existence as a species. In the past, there are many diseases that affects hundreds of millions of people, namely the plague or the smallpox, the latter of which has been entirely eradicated while very few people catch the plague nowadays, thanks to the extensive research into developing vaccines and preventative measures. Focusing on addressing global health issues can provide a boost to finding a cure many critical diseases, such as cancer, diabetes or malaria, which in turn can save countless lives. One prime case in point is the disease COVID-19 which has greatly disrupted everyone globally because of lockdowns, to developing a vaccine two years later and everything is now back to normal. On the other hand, putting an emphasis on solving world health issues can lead to neglection of other problems that are as equally as important. Regarding environmental problems, if these are not put into proper considerations, they can also pose a threat to our physical and mental well-being. If more scientific research are carried out to find solutions to pollution, global warming or loss of diversity, there could possibly be fewer people at risk of contracting diseases in the first place. Additionally, research into economic issues could help the impoverished have better shelters to stay in and enjoy a better life. In conclusion, while health problems can pose a great threat to the human's health, other issues are not to be disregarded, as they too can greatly affect our daily lives. Governments should allocate budgets to prioritize carrying out research in an extensive field of research to ensure adequate treatment to all problems.