International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages.

There is an argumentative phenomenon sparking a debate over a travel-related issue, whether cross-bordered tourism is not prohibitive anymore, so there are an ever-increasing number of holidaymakers to several outbound nations. While this reality has both merits and demerits, I would contend that its disadvantages may overshadow its counterparts. Without a shadow of a doubt, the great hiking number of foreign travellers may immensely bring about positive effects on a country, especially in terms of domestic citizens’ income. Being aware of the affordable price of nowadays international tours, a tourism-appealing area can easily maximize their profits to become as lucrative as possible by promptly creating numerous vocational opportunities for local dwellers to be employed. To be more precise, in Sapa- a Vietnamese tourist attractions, there are more and more staying hotels, and luxurious resorts being constructed to meet the demand of outbound visitors. By doing so, the unique destination can not only draw appealings of more travellers from other continents but also help ethnic minorities namely Thai and H’mong have accessibility to a line of career to make a living and improve their destitute living condition. Hence, there is a wealth of beneficiaries from the fact that cross-bordered visit is more accessible. While the redeeming features of such industry are widely acknowledged, its downsides still linger. In other words, an explosion in the number of individuals travelling abroad means that there are more flights needed, which may greatly contribute to environmental degradation, particularly the deteriorated quality of air. Undoubtedly, airplanes’ consumed amount of fuel is comparatively high in comparison to any means of transportation, so they will emit an uncountable volume of carbon footprint to the living habitat and create air pollution. For instance, in Vietnam, hundreds of daily flying trips to other countries from nationally acclaimed firms like Vietnam Airlines or Bamboo Airways may act as a main disturbance to the environmental health. Thus, the increasing data of international travellers may exacerbate the surrounding environment. In conclusion, while ordinary dwellers can vividly see the advantages of the mentioned phenomenon, it is also essential to note that if high-ranking bureaucrats do not find an effective solution to preserve the health of the environment, this rising industry may do more harm than good.