A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many nations around the world have been spending resources on oil search and its exploration as a source of energy and profit. This movement has been gone up worldwide after the increase in prices of petrol and its derivates. In my point of view, however, this action has many implications which are not worthwhile. Countries are searching for a way to enhance their economies through energy source and one of the most popular and valuable ones is oil. However, it is known that this kind of natural resource in not renewable and its exploration demands high investments. In addition, a possible diplomatic crisis with other countries due to geographical oil localization can be faced. Thus, it would be better spend resources on research to find another source of power. Considering the actual concerns with environmental problems, solar and wind power, for instance, are feasible in this scenario because they can be implemented in national boundaries. Aside from the territorial factor, the costs of maintenance and implementation of structure are lower in comparison with oil extraction. Hence, these are reasonable motives to make a nation decide on clean energy supplies, rather than fossil fuel. To conclude, I deeply agree with the idea that renewable sources of power have to be prioritized by countries which are exploring new ways to profit and make energy. Because of it, applying money and affording academic research on improvement of renewable energy is the best way of tackle the future issues caused by lack of oil.