Nowadays, many people use the Internet to get medical advice instead of going to see a doctor. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that technology has flourished by leaps and bounds in every field around the globe. As a result, these days, people obtain knowledge about medical rather than visiting medical practitioners. Free consultation is the main reason for this phenomenon. I think it is a negative trend and this essay discusses it briefly for the following reasons. To commence with, internet medical advice is full of free without paying any consultation fee and doctor fee, so numerous populations like to this. This means all the public are not in the same financial situtaion, so many struggle to pay the doctor fee to get treatment that's why individuals use internet for getting free advice from internet and social media such as Facebook and Twitter. For example, in India, more than 40% of the people get free advice from the internet not only uneducated persons but also the educated ones. Needless to say, poverty is the key factor of people obtain free advice from the internet. Furthermore, getting free advice and treatment from internet can affect people's health adversely because online consultants are not professionals and they just tell any treatment by their experience but all people's health are not in same. Everyone has a different health issue, so online advice might be wrong even some persons may died without proper medicines like doctors. For instance, in Sri Lanka, more than 60% of the dead cases registered by using the online treatment without going to see the doctors. To conclude, the online medical advice is full of free cost so many people use advice from this without going to see the doctor. However, it brings more adverse effect to the population namely dead might be happened for inappropriate medicines. Therefore, I think it is a negative treatment in the above-mentioned details.