Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a huge number of authorities have an idea of demolishing old buildings. Most of them support this with the thought of building new houses instead. I partly disagree with this statement. To begin with, the majority of the old constructions have historical affiliation. My point is that, firstly they were built a lot years or even centuries before we were born, secondly these properties have their own history, which should be considered as important to the mankind. The certain building or streets might have been designed by a famous architect, that lived back then and this place can be a representation of his work. By saving historical premises, we keep the history alive. From my perspective, this kind of houses should be reconstructed and given second life. Some of them can be turned into apartments, and more meaningful kept as the museums. On the other hand, because of fast-changing lifestyle, some of the constructions are no longer suitable for people to live in. That's the main reason of knocking down some chattels in the way of building new homes for families. For instance, a lot of the multi-apartment buildings from period of USSR don't have neither architectural nor cultural legacy. So, there is no reason for them to be renovated. Instead, they can be replaced by new properties with modern technology and beautiful design. Overall, it is worth all the money in the world to reconstruct old structures, that have value for society, than spending money on demolishing them.