In some countries, people are purchasing fewer new items and more second-hand goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

The market for used goods is gaining popularity, evident from the mushroom growth of offline and online stores specialized in second-hand goods. As per my opinion, this is a welcoming trend and is driven by several reasons. This essay will discuss the cause for this increasing trend as well as look into the advantages that support my viewpoint. There are numerous reasons for shopping second hand products. The first reason is saving money. Buying a used product will cost 50 percent less than buying a new product. Moreover, people now understand that purchasing a quality branded product which is used is much better that purchasing a new one of inferior quality. There are plenty of products available in market that have been used only once or a few times, such as designer outfits worn once by celebrities. These are now accessible to ordinary people at affordable rates. Furthermore, the availability of user-friendly apps and websites have made the communication between seller and buyer easier, further fostering the growth of used product market. Social media platforms such as Facebook have also influenced the widespread acceptance of used products. Information on the availability of products, pictures and cost is at our fingertips, thereby providing diverse options for customers. Shopping for used product is definitely a positive trend, especially for environment, as this increase reusability of goods and diminishes waste. The pollution is also decreased as the demand for manufacturing new products is reduced. Another significant advantage is for the seller, as they can gain at least half the price for the good that they no longer require. Moreover, people who are from less affluent backgrounds can afford basic amenities if they rely on used products. To summarize, benefits on cost saving, affordability and technology influence are the major reason for the increasing trend in used product sale. And this growth is highly beneficial for seller, buyer and for the environment in terms of profitability, cost savings and reusability.