People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons and effect of this?

In the developed and the developing world people are spending less time with their families. This is primarily owing to their jobs and the knock-on effects of this are when children of those parents grow up they end up abandoning their own mother and father. In the modern world the time spent in office has considerably increased, as employed people want to earn more money they increase their workload or increase the hours spent at worplace either to be recognised or rewarded for their effort. For instance, In South Korea people from a young age are expected to work 60 hours a week at their school or their workplace to get good grades or to be employed, ergo spending very little of their leftover time in a week with their families. The children of these workaholic parent feel left out, this has direct impact on their childhood as during these important formative years the parent who are supposed to cater to these children are busy working. When these children grow up their feeling towards their parents worsen and turns into animosity. For example, in Republic of Korea children have to go to cram school from a young age to participate in the higly competitive society and we often hear stories or news reports of the children from these schools growing up and completley abandoning their parent on the wayside. In conclusion, in our fast-paced society living a comfortable life requires spending a lot of time at the workplace while side-lining your own family, which in turn causes children of those parents to have a feeling of animosity toward the parents.