Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

There has been a trend suggested by studies that children spend more hours watching TV rather than implement active and creative activities. This phenomenon can be ascribed to several factors and some solutions should be proposed to stimulate them to engage in more positive things. There are two main reasons which can be considered to be a factor contribution in these issues. Firstly, in modern life, most of parents are so extremely busy for their job that they don’t have enough extra attention for their children. Apparently, this result in children can watch TV for a long time, which can not be controled by their parent. Secondly, After a period of time keeping watch on TV, children can not arrange their time to engage in other indoor and outdoor activities including doing exercise, travelling and voluntary work. This can lead to children can get obesity easily. As a consequence, the less time children spend on doing exercise, the more overweight they are. A number of strong measures must be implemented to tackle the issue. First, parents should restrict the amount of time that a child can watch TV and spend more time with them. Together they could engage in outdoor activities. For example parents and children could play football or badminton at weekend to help children to get away from the television. Second, school should not only focus on academic subject but also extracurricular activities to help children develop comprehensively. In conclusion, the growth in watching television among children can be a result of busy family schedules and the fear of the outdoor world, and some changes in family habits could encourage children to spend more time in active and creative things.