Many manufatured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

People nowadays started using more manufactured goods than organic food. Research says that most health problems are caused by high levels of sugar contained in processed food and drink items. I disagree the statement that these products should be made expensive so that people will consume less sugar. Firstly, public should be aware of what they are consuming in their day-to-day lifestyle. If they dont have any idea about the problems that sugar consumption can cause, they tend to eat more once they get addicted to the taste even if they are pricy. For example, children are getting addicted to chocolates even though they are expensive. Here, only if they get to know about the side effects of chocolate intake they can control themselves. Thus, providing awareness among the people instead of raising the price of the products will be more effective. In addition, this generation is mixed population of rich and poor people. If all the sugar products in the market becomes costly, the other half of the crowd will become unable to afford the basic need for this item. In other words, the poor crowd of the nation will not consume sweeteners at all whereas the rich crowd will be consuming it in high levels. Here, one part of the nation will suffer from the basic needs and the other part will consume more of it which results in health problems from both ends. I summarise that instead of increasing the cost of manufatured goods, we can encourage awareness programs in the country to reduce their effects on consumers. I suggest that the government can support more organic food over processed food.