In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Recently, most of reserach activity has been funded and operated by private companies. Although the process may consume an effective amount of time, it actually can restrain the knowledge and information delivery. Considering those points, I do believe that the disadvantage outweighs the advantage. The authority of private sector to fund and conduct research resulting in a time efficiency. Notably, it is because researchers do not have to deal with a complicated bureaucracy to do their research activity. From my undergraduate experiences, the amount of time for the private companies to accept my funding proposal for research, alongside with the compeletion of activity only took less than two month because they deem to briefly acknowledge the research findings, while in the same case, it can took more than five months with the government-affiliated companies, since they are thoroughly examine the research process. Nevertheless, since the government already issued specialised regulations to overcome this problem, I believe it will no longer important. On the other hand, the domination from private companies in scientific scrutiny potentially restrain the delivery of knowledge and useful information. It is because the majority of them will keep the research findings for their own purposes rather than public, resulting in a potential knowledge discrepancy. Take, for example, the cutting-edge research about hybrid vehicles from Bakrie Research Institute that remain disclosed and confidential from public access because their affiliated funding company impose them to not share the results. Thus, I think that drawback can cause a great concern, as it brings inequality in getting novel knowledge and information. In conclusion, notwithstanding with the fact that private companies can be efficient in time, I think the disadvantages still cause a great significane significant than that benefit because it can limit the public consumption on knowledge and helfpul information.