Some people say that the best way to reduce crime rate is to increase the number of police on the streets. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With crime rates spiking, it is suggested by some policymakers that we need to recruit more cops in our communities. I agree with this since a larger policing force would lead to deterrence of criminals but it could be costly. The rise in the number of police officers working on our roads makes mobs and thugs more scared to break the law. This is because it will decrease the response time to ongoing crime also discouraging them from committing illegal activities in front of officers patrolling the streets. For example, in Ecuador, there has been an elevated level of killings by drug dealers and the government decided to invest in the police and increase Their number leading to a sharp drop in murders in the country. However, more policemen require a high level of funding. Security takes a large portion of public finance and this would put a lot of pressure on it while leading to more taxes on citizens, as a result, could be highly unpopular with voters. For instance, recent research done in London showed that doubling the number of officers in the force would lead to a 10% hike in taxes for Londoners. Nevertheless, I believe this is worth the sacrifice since it leads to safer streets in our cities and towns up and down the country. In conclusion, the best way in my view to provide safety to our neighbourhoods and bring the high levels of killing and mugging down is through more policing since it deters organized crime and mobs but causes a rise in public expenditure.