Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to the new buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree? How important are old buildings to us?

Construction and destruction of new and old buildings respectively have always been a matter of contention amongst the school of thought of architects and construction planners. Some say that the crumbling down of the older derelict building should be made more intensive and that it should be replaced by the newer ones. I completely agree with this standpoint and in the upcoming paragraphs, I shall be talking about the same. The first supporting idea of the entire obliteration of the old denuded buildings is the redundancy it has in the terms of adding values of any sort to the ambience of the city or region they are present in. From the monetary aspect, if we look at it as an asset, it doesn’t have anything to provide or juice out any benefit from. It stays as a drab occupant that otherwise if had been replaced by an efficient property, could have generated a substantial revenue and economy from. Moreover, owing to the distending population size, many a time such repudiated buildings create an unnecessary dearth of space and therefore curb the potential development of a progressive asset. Then, reconstruction of such debilitating buildings doesn’t seem to be a prudential and justifiable action to go ahead with as it takes a considerable amount of money to convalescence such hollow structures, the money could, however, be used for creating new ones that would be sturdier as well as much economical to invest on. Another important reason that would make the inclination more angled towards the ravaging of old buildings would be the potential threat that it carries for the people that are inhabitants of such buildings and even for the people or living beings and the properties nearby. Given that they are old and rickety, they are generally not even able to bear the shocks of earthquakes and are the first ones to get decrepit from such catastrophes. In such cases too, the establishment of the new buildings are far more pragmatic, profitable and much safer. Although the older buildings of cultural and traditional essence are the major sources to ensnare and enamour the tourist-gaze, the underlying ill effects of such worn-out structures are doing more harm than good. Moreover, the ones that are neither of heritage importance nor are they sturdy or reconstructable, are blatantly pointless to have. Conclusively, it could therefore be stated that building newer buildings upon the destruction of the older ones is a better alternative, more often than not.