Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is said that in order to address both traffic and pollution problems, the most efficient solution is increasing petrol prices. I find this argument convincing enough, and I believe that considering other factors, which will be discussed, can also remedy the situation. It is my view that if the cost of petrol increased, these issues could be resolved. Since the fares for public transportation services that one should pay for commuting are comparable with petrol's cost, people are less likely to use public transportation. Therefore, the number of cars on the streets has been increasing, having adverse effects on both the traffic issue and air quality. Moreover, it is known that fossil fuels are running out as a result of destroying natural resources. Therefore, in my view, such measures that can lead to a deceleration in ruining these resources are valuable. I further believe that raising public awareness about the consequences of damaging the environment and wildlife habitats should be taken into consideration. Being aware of the health risks and environmental problems, people are more likely to think twice before using their own private cars. As it says, knowledge is power. Additionally, it is an undeniable fact that the fewer cars are used, the less traffic and fumes are generated. Moreover, encouraging people to replace their private cars with public transportation services, which is a cleaner form of travel, can be taken into account because it can effectively resolve both problems at hand. In conclusion, I totally agree with the growth of the price of fossil fuels, as it can result in less traffic and a cleaner atmosphere. Furthermore, in my perspective, raising public awareness and encouraging people to use public transportation are steps in the right direction.