In many countries, more and more people are becoming overweight. What do you think are the main causes of this? What effects might this have in the future? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there are a lot of people are suffering from excess weight. This essay will discuss the reasons that may provoke obesity and what should have been done about these situations. One of the main causes of the rising trend of obesity in many countries is easy access and availability of unhealthy food options. With the expansion of fast food chains and convenience stores, coupled with the proliferation of food delivery services, people have more opportunities to consume calorie-dense, nutrient-poor foods. These foods are often high in sugar, fat and salt, which can lead to weight gain when consumed in excess. Secondly, the aggressive marketing tactics used by the food industry, especially social media platforms, highly influence food choices and consumer behavior. Children are easily manipulated with eye-catching advertisements, while adolescents associate unhealthy foods with desirable qualities such as happiness, popularity and success. The first consequence is that the worsening obesity epidemic can lead to severe health problems, including heart disease, diabetes, and certain types of cancer. For instance, more and more children visit dentists due to consuming sugary beverages, chocolates and products high in sugar. The dominance of marketing and food industries over healthcare can result in prioritizing profit over public health. The more people spend money on groceries, the more income they have to improve their marketing strategies and as a consequence the healthcare system is left behind. In conclusion, the causes of obesity are a lot of options of and easy access to unhealthy food and aggressive marketing strategies. These trends can lead to acute health problems and a flourishing food industry that can have negative effects on the development of the healthcare system.