Some say that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time, because it has no direct connection with people’s lives. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people think that the use of time for reading newspapers or watching TV news is meaningless because of the lack of correlation with an individual's life. I disagree with the statement, because watching TV and reading newspapers have a strong connection to an individual's life, particularly in gaining more access to entertainment and making people connected to wide-range information. The following paragraphs contain supporting explanations for this stance. To begin with, spending time watching TV or reading newspapers is not wasting time, because people can be easily entertained by some channels on the TV. TV provides various channels ranging from movies to reality shows that can entertain people. This can help increase their productivity, make their lives more colourful, and boost their mood. For instance, when an individual feels bored after work, they can get refreshments from watching TV, especially with comedy channels like Mr. Bean. Therefore, the time spent watching TV is considered crucial as it connects directly to people ’s needs for entertainment. In addition, reading newspapers helps readers to be up to date with the latest news including the international ones. News lovers can always stay up to date with the information even from abroad and the information they get could help them make some friends in other countries. For instance, readers with similar news topic interests could exchange information or opinions when they meet directly with or without plans. These activities also provide convenience as they can be accessed from anywhere and anytime. Hence, newspaper reading activities are important for the readers as they obtain the information they need. To conclude, I once again reaffirm my position that both reading newspapers and watching TV news are not pointless at all and these can have positive effects on people's lives. Time investment given to these activities is not wasted because it entertains and provides up-to-date information to people.