Some people think that excessive use of smart phones badly affects teenager’s literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

People deem that, pervasive use of mobile phones leads to diminished attention spans, making reading, and writing a sustained challenge for teenagers. I disagree with this notion, and believe that smartphones provide acces to wide range of materials and educational apps, which could potentially enhance literacy skills, and, also teenagers comunicate with the rest of the world at real time, offering them exposure to global languages and culture, which can enhance literacy and comprehension skills. With the presence of internet anything can be learned for free, knowledge is no longer bound behind a paywall. Teenagers can use these immense resources available to them at their fingertips to broaden their horizons. For Example, Khan Academy and Duolingo, offer plethora of resources for students to learn from, resources offered by the World Wide Web aren't just limited to educational apps, instead, they can be used to supplement social media usage to enhance a teenager's communication. Secondly, as teenagers continue to spend more and more time on their phones, such as browsing on social media or chatting with their friends. It provides an excellet outlet for them to communicate and understand the customs and cultures of rest of the world. For example, Twitter a social media website, has millions of users from around the world talking about current affairs of their own country, this provides an excellent interface to understand other cultures. In conclusion, pervasive use of smart phones is unlikely to diminish a teenager's ability to read or write, rather an appropriate use might give them exposure towards cultures and languages of various countries, at the same time, use of informative web applications and readily available reading material might enhace their overall comprehension.