Some people say that death penalty is the only way to decrease the rate of crime. while others believe that there are other better ways. Discuss both ideas and give your own opinion.

In modern society, increasing number of people have differing ideas as regards to the death penalty as a sole diminisher of crime rate. One side believes that death penalty is the only method to decrease crime rate while others argue that there are better ways for reaching the same ultimate goal. However, I would argue that the death penalty would be worse choice. On one hand, people who are in favor of the death penalty believe it is the most vital tool to prevent any future crimes, saying the fear of facing capital punishment serves as a powerful instrument, blocking individuals from engaging in crimes. This effect is associated with the severity of the punishment, which sends a clear message to the community that the crime will not be tolerated. Moreover, it is generally believed that death penalty can provide a sense of justice for victims and their families, especially in instances of crimes where the most damage is done psychologically rather than physical or financial. On the other hand, some people, including me, believe that despite the death penalty may give a sense of justice to some, its flaws and ethical dilemmas makes the exploration of alternative approaches to crime reduction necessary. Investing in education and rehabilitation programs for criminals can help us find actual reasons that end up with criminal activity. Also, the effectiveness of the death penalty as a discouragement tool is very debatable topic. Most statistics have proven that its effect on crime rates is various in different countries. Furthermore, in cases of wrongful conviction, the ethical side of executing a potentially innocent person arouses serious concerns. In conclusion, considering the dangers of death penalty and other means of preventing crimes, I have come to the conclusion that the crime rate could be diminished without the active involvement of death penalty.