Some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adapt to a new environment by establishing a minority community. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Immigrants that took decision to move out from their own country to a new one should adopt the local culture and assimilate with the local people. On the other hand, there is another perspective that support the immigrants to have freedom and established a minority community so that they can adapt well to a new environment better. This essay will elaborate this two contradictive point of views on the next paragraph. Sometimes immigrants should be the one who try to adapt to the new places. It will be their new future home where they life and engaged with the society. This requires immigrants to learn about the local culture and understand people's mind without really change about who they really are. This is a good opportunity to open up the higher understanding about other cultures and easily connect to the local people. For example, immigrants from China that migrated to United States of America, they tried to adopt the American culture and now the children that often called as Asian - American have the benefit of easily engaged well to the community. The immigrants can also establish a minority community so that the burden of moving out to a "strange place" can be reduced. They will still feel like they are at home and have an opportunity to teach their own children about their culture, then hope that it will still run through generations by generations so that they will not forget where they come from and keep improving their life to be a better one. It will make the society more colorful and tolerate with each other's belief. For example, the India's immigrant that migrated to United Kingdom. They still true to their belief and teach their children as what their parents taught them especially the food recepie, then they finally opened up a restaurant where people from United Kingdom can try Indian food without travel so far to India. From my point of view, the immigrants should be flexible. They need to be agile in trying to adapt to a new environment so that the society can accept them and treat them well, but on the other side of the coin, they also need to stay true of their belief and culture so that their core identity will not disappear. They can be also an inspiration to both new local people and their ancestors in terms of perseverance and hard work. For example, from my friend, she is the students that migrate from Indonesia to Korea, she set an example for Korean people about "patience" as what typical Indonesian culture is, and also proof to other students in Indonesia that you can live in harsh environment but still be the salt and light to other people.