The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree of disagree with this statement?

Throughout human history, science and technology have served as a significant catalyst for the advancement of humankind. However, while the essence of the field of science is to innovate ways to make burdensome tasks easier and more efficient, there have been many occurrences when scientists practised their occupation with the wrong motives in mind, such as to gain money, fame, and other superficial things. This essay will further discuss the notion of what the essential purpose of science should be. To give you an example, in my field of work, medicine, the focus of the healthcare system in many parts of the world was to mainly provide a curative approach to patient care. When the healthcare system was focused only on treating the disease, the health expenses would soar highly due to the excessive use of healthcare facilities and resources, manpower, and drugs per patient, causing a huge debt for the patient to cover. In my opinion, this practice is the manifestation of the wrong implementation of science. However, there is currently a paradigm shift in the preferred option for providing the best patient care, which is to practice preventive medicine. When doctors started to frequently advocate ways to prevent diseases from forming or developing further, there would be fewer patients that would have severe diseases and their complications, thus requiring less extensive and costly utilization of health resources, giving patients more quality of life and fewer bills to pay at the same time, further emphasizing the true essence of science advancements. To conclude, my stance in this discourse is that I wholeheartedly agree that all scientists should think and work toward the final goal of a better world to live in.