International tourism has led to a huge increase in the number of visitors to many historical sites around the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative phenomenon.

Some argue that the number of foreign tourists visiting historical places are increasing worldwide. This essay believes that this is completely a positive phenomenon because it helps with cultural preservation and improve the economy of the country. One of the significant benefits of foreign tourism to a country is that it helps preserve its culture. With tourism, countries are able to present their heritage, tradition, and uniqueness to other people. This recognition and appreciation from other people keeps the history alive. For instance, in the Philippines the historical sites in Vigan are popular among tourists. Because of this, the local government is able to preserve the buildings that were built 100 years ago. In addition to that, it can also help with the growth of the economy by creating job opportunities. Tourists from overseas often need accomodation, trasportation, places to eat, and tourists guides. Because of this, it gives the local community the opportunity to generate income. For example, locals can be the perfect tour guides because they have deeper knowledge and understanding about their place and history. In conclusion, international tourists visiting historical places has significant positive benefits in one's country. They not only help preserve the history of a nation but as well as with the improvement of the economy.