Some people think that older school children should learn a wide range of subjects and develop knowledge, while other people think that they should learn only a small number of subjects in details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Education plays an important role in a person’s life. There has been an ongoing debate on the current education system, especially regarding the choice of curriculum. Some argue that students should enrol on multiple subjects, whereas others believe in focusing on the smaller scope of majors. Both views are valid, and this essay will explore the reasons for both points, as well as my own opinion. According to my personal experience, the benefits for young teenagers to have numerous subjects before entering tertiary education outweigh the drawbacks. One of the major advantages is that diverse subjects provide children an opportunity to explore new topics in different fields. By exposure to multiple subjects, students can gain both diversified prerequisite theoretical knowledge and hands-on experience. As a result, student broaden their horizons, as well as discover their hidden talents. Most importantly, based on this recognition, it significantly assists young teenagers to figure out their potential life-long passion and future career decisions. Hence, a result of improved academic performance due to better self-discipline; for instance, actively pursuing certain knowledge and better in-class activities engagement. In summary, such practice not only benefits the students but also favours the educational institutions. On the other hand, there is only so much time to spend on studying. A limited number of subjects to enrol may be a relief in students ’ and parents’ burdened shoulders. Firstly, it allows students to spend more time on each subject, rather than worrying about their choices and making attempts. A fixed curriculum usually provides a clear guideline for academic personnel in acing exams. As a consequence, students comprehend the knowledge thoroughly. A solid foundation of primary knowledge is also a key to exploring one’s enthusiasm in number of aspects. Secondly, it lowers the chance of undesirable outcomes occurring. Imaging taking courses without any background information and purely driven by one’s curiosity: a possibility of constantly failing to achieve the basic tasks may lead to a loss of interest in the middle of the semester, causing extra time and money to retake, or change subject. In conclusion, the essay proves that both views are well-grounded with number of advantages. Yet, I truly believe that the best study outcome occurs with passion. Maybe in the near future, there will be no argument on which approach is better off than the other, but a novel method of combination of two, as it seems like each of them compensates for the flaws of the other.