In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem?

In many countries across the world, nutritionists have been alerting the society about the huge number of children with obesity. To understand the plight, this essay will point out some reasons which cause such public health problem and will give possible solutions to diminish the impact of this crisis. Food industry, nowadays, works hard to sell products which are designed for kids. It is possible to see that packages are full of colour and bring cartoon's characters to catch attention of these little consumers. Besides that, kids are constantly assailed by advertising programs on TV, tablets and cellphones, which are created especially to make them desire the savoury snack or the sugary drink shown on it. However, these products are not thought to have nutritional value and provide health to kids. Many of them are rich in fat and sugar which causes bad impacts on children's health, such as high blood pressure, diabets and obesity. Considering this, measures can be taken by the government to contain this scenario. For example, imposing guidelines concerning the usage of safe percetange of sodium, sugar and fat on products, regulating advertisement to avoid the aggressive approach on children and providing clear information about nutritional components on the packages are some ways to deal with it. In addition, individuals have also their role in tackling this problem. Parents have to be aware of their children's food consumption. To conclude, I would say that obesity in infants are a problem created by adults and have to be solved by them. Thus, this task force depends on government regulation, parents education and some sense from food companies to make our children healthy.