Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Often times job seekers are asked about personal particulars like their hobbies, interests, or marital status. Many people consider it as necessary while others show concerns. In my perspective, candidates must not share such information until it is mandatory for the specific job roles. Companies around the world gather employee's personal information for a number of reasons. First, depending on time availability, tasks are assigned to employees such as short-deadline work is often assigned to those who are available for extended hours. Next, if a person has experience managing teams like in sports, he/she best fits in the role of management. Then, based on hobbies, humans can perform well in the workplace. For instance, many organisations have found that personal interests have an impact on performance. Employees deliver high-end results if their preferences are utilized accordingly. Thus, both companies and employees are beneficiaries of the personal data. Conversely, despite few benefits, access to personal information sometimes appears as a tool of discrimination. Many candidates are either dropped during interviews or consistently judged by employers even though their policies claim equal employment opportunities for all races, religions, citizenships, and genders. For instance, especially in the Middle East, it is common for the workforce from South Asian countries paid less than those who are from Europe. Many companies do not hire female staff because they can not work extended hours, especially at night. Hence, the workforce is exploited across the globe once their data is accessible. In summary, although personal data collected by employers could be beneficial in lots of cases, it is vulnerable to exploitation. According to me, it would be worthwhile if provided in selective cases.