Many feel today that attention spans are becoming shorter due to prevalence of social media. Upto what extent do you agree or disagree.

The effects of social media on our attention is growing gradually day by day. Everyday people spend a huge amount of time on social media such as Instagram and Facebook without being aware of how much it affects on their health. I totally agree with the fact that our attention spans are getting shorter. To my mind, it is because of that the information given on social media is becoming shorter too. For example, "Reels" of such giant platforms as Youtube, that are extremely popular among the young generation, demotivate the individuals from watching longer videos. Hence, they get used to not being able to concentrate on one theme or matter for a long time. On the other hand, social media users are also disturbed by advertisement such as pop-ups and redirects. I can contend that this also influences on our attention period. For example, recently I was reading an article about healthy diet on a website and the advertising on the same website were popping up again and again and making my reading of the target article worse. I could not concentrate properly, thus, I forgot almost all the main statements and later when I wanted to recollect what I've read before, I couldn't do that. In conclusion, due to the prevalence of social media, I can assume that its influence on individuals' health and memory is irreversible but every person ought to control the usage time of spending on social media platforms.