In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

People around the world have different approaches when it comes to putting efforts into education or employment, some tend to push themselves to work hard while others prefer not to put in a lot of hard work. This essay will first state that a habit of achieving perfection and a competitive attitude, are the primary reasons that motivate people to work hard, and then suggest that sometimes smart work is more effective than hard work, and hard work can also badly affect mental health. The major reason why people choose to push themselves more, is their attitude towards achieving perfection. As a result, they put more effort into workingon the smaller details of the task at hand. Since perfection in any work gets appreciation from others, it keeps people motivated to push themselves to do the hard work. Moreover, some people are inherently competitive by nature and, they always want to excel in what they are doing. Due to this attitude, people tend to work harder than others to get a sense of achievement. However, working hard does not necessarily give more benefits. In the era of technology, working smart is more effective to get better results. Smart work can save a lot of time and energy, which can be used in other areas of life which is equally important like health, relationships and future goals. Furthermore, pushing oneself more than one’s capacity badly affects mental and physical health. For example, people who work for long hours usually get less than 6 hours of sleep at night, which has adverse effects on the immune system and mental health. In conclusion, some people prefer working hard to get an appreciation of their perfection at work from their colleagues or superiors, while for others, achieving excellence in everything they do gives a sense of achievement. However, sometimes smart work is more effective for perfection as well as for excellence, and the benefits of hard work come at the cost of physical, mental and emotional health.