today,the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not real needs of the society in witch they are sold. to what extend do you agree or disagree?

In the context of modern society, the industry of advertising have a considerable influence in the increasing and alarming consumism of generation nowdays. This essays agrees with the former statement, since the architecture of social plataforms allow and encourage this phenomenon, as well as the quality and fast-paced goods manufactured in the context of today. Firstly, advertisement have gained an extreme amount of influence due to the inclusion of adds in social media. What used to be spaces for sharing personal experiences and friends, now are flooded with advertising, prompting users to consume certain products without any reasonable explanation. A series of recent studies conducted by VOX, shown that social media users guide their buying choices by trends on social media. These trending products are managed by advertising campaings campaign displayed on major influencing platforms such as Tiktok and Instagram, and aided by 'influencers' which aide and sustain these campaings. Secondly, the fast-paced of consumism is reflected on the kind of durability and quality of the goods advertise Change the form of the verb advertised show examples in general. In the past, most of the things were constructed or designed to last for decades or even generations, nowadays, the products form part of a phenomenon called 'programmed obsolence ', which means that goods are meant to be non-reusable, and easily replaceable, hence, its usage are meant to be for only a couple of years or months. One of the most remarkable examples is the fashion industry. Since the implosion of 'fashion influencers' and candid clothing campaings campaign, wardrobes and fashion industries have been lowering the quality of their clothes, in order to sell and offer collections at a concerning speed. This phenomenon its called ' fast-fashion ' and it accounts for one of the biggest sources of consumism as well as environmental contamination according to studies made by Oxford University in 2020. To conclude, the arising trend of consuming non-reusable and easily trown grown goods is due to the streghten of advertising campaings, creating trends in order to attach users in the chains of consumism. These can be propelled by social media platforms, and can be shown an increase by influencers, mantaining the fast pace of consuming, even when the quality of the goods is not the best.