Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Reading is an essential habit for children. While some argue that children should solely focus on their school subjects, others also emphasize the significance of reading for entertainment. I believe kids should be exposed to a variety of books that will help develop creativity and independent thinking. People who advocate for children focusing solely on academic books stress the importance of school curriculum-based studies in preparing them for future careers. They argue that children might get deviated if they get exposed to comics or storybooksbooks and start spending more time on irrelevant subjects. Additionally, they fear that this could negatively impact their academic performance. While it is undeniable that children should focus on their school subjects, I believe leisure reading is equally crucial. Reading story books and comics gives children joy and increases overall interest in reading. Reading these books also provides them with relief from academic pressure. Moreover, these books take children to a world of diverse vocabulary, whereas in academic books the language is more restricted. This will improve children’s communication skills and enable them to express their ideas and opinions confidently. Finally, reading story books stimulates children’s creativity and imagination encouraging them to think outside the box, rather than confining themselves within a common thought process. Studies say that many people who have excelled in artistic fields such as cinema or authoring books have instilled reading habits from their childhood. This illustrates that while reading for pleasure may appear to be a waste initially, it has a profound and lasting impact on shaping children’s futures. In conclusion, while reading academic books is important to children as it equips them with knowledge and skills to acquire their future careers, they also need exposure to a wide variety of books to enhance their communication skills, develop creativity, and foster self-thinking. Balancing academic reading with leisure reading enriches children’s learning experience and prepares them for success in both academic and personal endeavors.