The demand for coaching services has grown significantly in the digital age, with online coaching platforms becoming prevalent. Some now feel online coaching is a superior option to in-person coach. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, digital age expanded their reach to the field of motivational coaching, which have increased in the last years. While many people advocate for this virtual practices, others may not coincide with the later point of view. This essay agrees with the former perspective, since online coaching leans towards the interests of their creators rather than users, as well as the majority of these leaders do not provide concret set of qualifications to review the veracity of their discourses. Motivational coaching has been an important beacon to prompt individuals for action, however, the practice of motivation seen and produced on social platforms is targeted towards a certain population, in order to exploit their necessities and offer malpractices that could be detrimental in a near future. For example, many young people gather and foster the advice of online couches that market and sell their ideas in order to gain followers, rather than help and actually care for each individual. This was shown by a recent study conducted by VOX, were several accounts of motivational couches on social platforms would use their videos to advertise certain products or courses, under the excuse of giving inspirational motivation to their followers. Moreover, a vast majority of these influencers do not comply with a minimal professional criteria for the knowledge they are actively discussing on their accounts. For example, many health motivational coaches, that would support and encourage specific lifestyles, are not even actual experts dedicated to the medical field, which could lead to the spreadhearing of un-healthy habits or practices. Real life cases include trends on 'diets' or 'challenges' advertised by such 'motivational couches'. These practices involved a plethora of non-recommended medical habits such as long periods of fasting, and the consume of diet pills, risking actual lives. To conclude, even though the offer of these modernised motivational coaches had a surge on the past years, the practice and advicement given by them gravitate towards their individual interest, as well as the credentials for giving this kind of advice are not often fullfilled. Even though we are living in the midst of the digital era, a call to an ethical motivational practice could be more fiting towards enhacing society.