Children at secondary school are often taken on visits to museums, zoo and concerts and sometimes even to other countries. What do you think the advantages and disadvantages of such visits are?

The learning process in formal institutions could be done both in class and outside of it. It is believed that high school students often learn not only in school, but also in other places like museums, zoo, concerts, and even abroad. I believe that there are benefits and drawbacks regarding this, and this essay will explain them. First, these visits can help the secondary students acquire knowledge from different places, hence it could broaden their perspective. Rather than studying from books, students could get opportunities to observe real-life objects. Animal skeletons, for instance, which are only available in museums, could help the students picture both history and biology subjects better. Second, giving live experience would enrich students practical knowledge. Coming to the concert, for example, can stimulate the student to perform better in music, since they could mimic and copy the performers' behaviour to create a positive ambience for the audience. However, this event has its drawbacks. Undoubtedly, learning outside is economically inefficient as many expenses need to be covered. Although there are special prices and discounts available, especially for the students, many who come from low social economy status can suffer as they need extra effort to save money. A concert in Indonesia, for example, can cost around IDR 300,000, which is one-fifth of a minimum wages in small cities. Furthermore, it is also time inefficient because they need to travel back and forth to the destination. While the students may enjoy it, some others could be sick during the journey and accidents might also occur, which is the reason this should be given extra attention. In conclusion, while high school students could get new knowledge and first-hand experiences through visitation, it is money and time-consuming. The safety of the students should also take into account during the journey.