Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned, while others believe that people should be free to do any sports or activities. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that extreme sports are dangerous and even life-threatening. Although it can be argued that governments should ban those dangerous sports to PREVENT tragedies from happening again, I believe that people SHOULD have THE freedom to decide on pursuing any sports or activities they like. I will elaborate on both views and present my argument in this essay. There are several reasons why banning extreme sports could be seen as necessary. Firstly, those extreme sports often contain life-threatening nature /THEY INVOLVE LIFE-THREATENING MOVEMENTS / ARE OFTEN BY NATURE LIFE-THREATENING that are often hard to prevent or avoid. For example, while an equipment failure might cause roller skaters to break A few bones, it could result in more severe injuries if a similar incident happens to sky divers. Second, while extreme sports are welcomed among risk-seeking individuals, the high risk of getting injured or even death could impose A huge financial BURDEN on both governments as well as families. For example, there are thousands of people who die or ARE severely injured from skydiving every year. Not only ARE those people ’s families devastated and financially impaired from the tragedy, governments also need to invest money and time in investigating those incidents AND ALSO COVER PART OR ALL OF THE MEDICAL COSTS INVOLVED. Despite the above arguments, I believe that it is upon every individual to decide to do any sports or activities they want. Just like people having freedom of speech, it is also vital that people have freedom to do any sports or activities they like. STOPPING PEOPLE FROM ENGAGING IN THEIR FAVORITE SPORTS IS AN INFRINGEMENT OF THEIR LIBERTY. Especially in a DEMOCRATIC free country, just the dangerous nature itself does not justify governments to ban a certain sport or activity. Moreover, it is hard to define what sports or activities should be banned if we were really to ban extreme sports. The process of lawmaking would also create a financial burden. Instead, governments should educate people about the high risk of those extreme sports and impose more strick STRICT regulations on how to perform those extreme sports, which could IN TURN also TO A certain level lower the risk. In conclusion, whereas it is considered by some people that extreme sports contain its dangerous nature and should be banned, I believe that individuals SHOULD have THE autonomy to decide what sports or activities to pursue.