The money spent by governments on space programs would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been much debate going on whether the amount of money allocated to space programs would be more beneficial than spending it on schools or hospitals. Although spending money on public welfare is essential, at the same time space exploration is also crucial. Firstly, investing in space industries may lead to new discoveries and inventions. To illustrate, due to limited Earth capacity, people will eventually need a new place to live in. For this reason, there is a need to find new ways to survive on other planets. Consequently, investing in various space projects not only help discover new extraterrestrial bodies but also find out more about the planet we live on in order to prolong life expectancy of the earth. Secondly, the research carried out in space might lead to brand new discoveries, which would prevent various diseases and lead to a better understanding of the phenomena in our planet. Satellites are being used to detect solar storms, changes in temperatures or air pressure, UV levels. These help scientists predict weather conditions and incoming potential dangers. For example, warnings about hurricanes, tsunamis, earthquakes and other natural disasters are often detected by satellites. However, governments should also ensure that citizens receive proper education and healthcare services. If there is a lack of infrastructure, many people would not be able to get the proper education or a good healthcare system. Therefore, the quality of life would exponentially degrade. For instance, many countries would experience a shortage of skilled employees and outbreaks of diseases, which leads to an increase of expenses in these sectors.