In the past lectures were the only method of teaching to a large number of students. Technology has brought tremendous changes. What are the advantages and disadvantages.

The technological advancements made in recent years have amplified the paths for imparting education, conversely leaving lessons behind. This essay aims to dwelve on the main advantages as well as the disadvantages that this have brought up in society. The main advantages provided by such changes could be instant access to education and expanding the freedom for students to learn at their own time. Firstly, lessons can only be accessed by students if they are enrolled in specific courses, this could hinder the possibility for learners due to lack of time and availability. Nowdays the instant access through searching enginees engines and internet provide students with a myriad of knowledge instantaneusly. For example, many students can learn algorithms and AI through YouTube videos, rather than coursing a whole degree in computer science. Secondly, this also opens the possibility for people to learn at their own pace, since there are no schedules or deadlines in education made through searching enginees engines or videos. To continue with the example of YouTube video-essays, many learners can manage their own time to acquire this knowledge, whether it would be faster or slower than traditional learning settings such as lessons, that often include a planned schedule. On the other hand, disadvantages like the lack of face-to-face interactions and potential concentration issues can be a direct results of over-relaince in technology gadgets. Face-to-face interaction provided by classrooms in many lessons are of paramount importance, since it could enhance teamwork and a better understanding of certain topics. In addition to this issue, many students can later present shorter attention spans due to the overuse of technology. A recent study conducted by VOX proved that attention spans have lowered at least 80% in young students since last year, the main reason for this problem pointed out the fact of relying solely on their computers or phones for education. To conclude, technology certainly had provided a plethora of advantages for teaching, it can also dimish the importance of teaching in traditional ways such as lessons. While many people can now access to information faster, or accomodate their time for learning, it can also generate short attention spans as well as to prive students from knowing and working with their peers, enhancing the learning experience.