Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Most museums require a entrance fee while the rest are free.I believe that this generates income to the survival of these places, and gives a value to the history and generate foreign revenue to a country. However, the unaffordability for the poorer is the major drawback of the above. Yet, I think benifits of taking a fee from entrees outweight the drawbacks of it. To commence with, entrance fee for a museum will generate money to operate the place.Most of these places are poorly funded by the authorities,and therefore if they do not generate an income from visitors, these places cannot survive in the long run. For instance, the one and only railway museum in Sri Lanka was abonded by the government in 2022 due to the economical crisis faced by the country. Where as, if they collect money from the visitors it would have been survived till today. Other than that, it would create a value for the art and history which have been displayed in these places, and they attract tourists a lot. Thus, this can generate good foreign revenue to the country. For example, accroding to the 2023 national bussiness report, national musueum of Sri Lanka had earned nearly 5% from the total tourism related forigne revenues for the last year. Therefore, entrance fee from these places have many advantages to the nation. Unfortunately, this can creates a burden on poor people in a country. Although, they have the intrest and pivilage to see the history as the citizens of the country, this price barrier prevents their interrest. However, governing bodies can introduce seperate statergies for the poor countrymen. Just as in Japan where no fee for the Japanese low income families and children below 16 years to visit their museums. In conclusion, collection of an entrance fee can use to function these important places, while creating a good foreign revenue to the country. However, poor people lost the priviladge to see their history by this, but still if authorities involve and looked at this in a humantarian ground they still can negotiate with this problem effectively. As such this writer is in strong notion that advantages of charges at a museum outwight the disadvantages of it.