Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of people present the view that if children are able to opt for their daily necessities such as food, clothes and entertainment, they will be arrogant and self-centred people in the future. However, others believe that it is crucial for children to make decisions about everything which has an impact on them. I strongly agree with the latter opinion and my reasons will be given in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that independent children are more beneficial to their communities as they can handle problems more effectively. From a psychological standpoint, individuals who were more dependent on their parents during childhood may easily be discouraged from combating life difficulties due to a lack of confidence. This can result in a society with people who fail to work properly and efficiently. Furthermore, research findings confirm that making decisions independently enables children to develop critical and creative thinking. Consequently, people become capable of facing challenging situations. For example, in Japan, children are educated to make choices about their clothes shapes and colours on their own. As a result of this education, Japanese adults are able to make decisive decisions in their personal and professional lives. On the other hand, another group of people claim that children ’s choices should be restricted. They firmly insist that making choices independently during childhood leads to the upbringing of people who only care about their own desires. However, I do not find this argument convincing as children who are too reliant on their parents are more likely to experience various failures in their lives. For example, in Iran, children are confined to their parents’ attitudes and when they become older cannot live their lives independently. In conclusion, in my view, independent choices make children more confident and help them develop critical and creative thinking. Moreover, dependency may cause constant failures in daily life.