Unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs ( for example, working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to the younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many think secondary school students should give back to the public by rendering mandatory services. I disagree with that because, even though, partaking in these tasks is good. It can however, be exhausting, time consuming and also have a negative impact on their academic performance. On the one hand, high school programs are usually funded by the government. Therefore, it is only fair that students repay the support by offering such help. For example, in Nigeria, government owned secondary schools are tuition fee and this money is gotten from taxes of civil servants. And as such, these scholars owe the society. On the other hand, these act of kindness involves both time and energy. Thus, it can cause a dip in academic performance because most of the scholars do not know how to balance work and education yet. For instance, average learners who have academic challenges plus household chores and then, have to work for the community, will be too tired at the end of the day to even study. This leads to poor educational achievements. Also, some learners have side jobs which they get paid for working. And so, they do not have time for extra societal tasks. Because, adding an extra compulsory task will be too cumbersome for their age and this will result to less productivity and poor grades. I disagree that high schools should make community assistance compulsory cause secondary school students most times struggle to work and read. And this, could have a negative effect in their classroom performance. In conclusion, although it is good to help the community. This act of service should be the rendered voluntarily and not compulsorily.